Frantic February, Political Activism and Muffins


As February speeds to its ultimate conclusion I thought it time to reflect on my achievements thus far. The highlight has to be winning the Hallmark #TMantic competition mainly through the sterling efforts of friends and followers who voted for me during a nerve-wracking, rollercoaster week.  Too many people to thank individually but you know who you are.

I also have an entry in a Haiku competition and await the results of a couple of others. February also saw me indulging in a little political activism spurred on by my horror at proposed cuts in Children’s Cardiac Units, respite centres and the potentially dangerous DLA reforms. Sometimes even a career procrastinater like myself can be jolted into action.

I’ve revamped my blog, hosted a guest post, sent out the call offering product reviews and have identified my first subject for my #hometourist season (due out in March). 

On a social level I have hosted a  birthday party for a friend and also a mini reunion with some ex university pals. I even managed to attend a hilarious writers tweetup where the main topic of conversation was muffins. Make of that what you will.  😉

So why do I still feel as though I don’t ‘do’ enough?

I’m guilty of making unfair comparisons between myself and my peers. I read a plethora of excellent stories, poetry and blog posts churned out, seemingly effortlessly, by writers whom I look up to and aspire to be. It is, dare I say, envy and my inner ‘sensible’ self realises that I may have slightly lost the plot (little writer pun there).

No one should ‘aspire’ to be anyone but themselves. Allow yourself to be ‘inspired’ by others but remember that everyone sings their own song, follows their own path and dreams their own dreams. What a terrible world this would be if we were all singing from the same hymn sheet.

I’m reminded of the scene in Life Of  Brian where the crowd repeats the mantra ‘Yes, we’re all individuals’ and that sole voice at the back pipes up ‘I’m not’.

Vive la difference

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth Currie
    Feb 26, 2011 @ 22:39:35

    Yes I kind of identify with that! I always remember my mother exhorting me to ‘be an individual Elizabeth’ at that awful age when all you want is to be like eveyone else and be liked by them too (when most of the playground smirk at you as being ‘different’). I always feel I should do more too; but no longer have the excuse of being a mother of small children. I address some of these points in my latest blog today. I think it’s a lot to do with our ‘driven’ achievement obsessed culture personally (and being a beta type personality probably). Good luck; you seem to be doing rather an impressive amount actually!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

