Part II (unedited)


The first room I enter in the gallery is China – Journey To The East and I laugh out loud as I’m greeted by a waving, golden cat. There is an exhibition of 15 photographs by Yan Preston capturing mainly domestic scenes of Yorks Chinese community. I like their colour and simplicity and the way tradition and modernity are fused together seamlessly. You can check out Yans site here. http://www.yanpreston.com/

There are also some fascinating Chinese artefacts on display and I was amused to learn that, in 850, alchemists attempting to create a potion for Eternal Life stumbled instead upon gunpowder. The irony is not lost on me.

I wandered through three more rooms entitled Sacrifice, Courage and Status (more irony) and did not pick up a single syllable. Perhaps an Art Gallery is not the best place to eavesdrop. It’s too damned quiet.I did not go to the upstairs exhibitions. I shall save that for another day.

As I step outside back into the heat of the day I reflect on my lack of success. Even here where people are jabbering away I cannot piece together one single sentence. Their conversations are distorted by the sound of the traffic and the splashing of the fountain. I feel disjointed/detached from life.Not just at this moment but every moment. A sense of reality, of being grounded eludes me.

Two more hours until I collect our son. Too many hours until I see your face again.

I decide to take a short walk on York Wall.

Leave a Reply

