True Love


It was a stressful day. I barely managed to hold it together as I coped with the end of a four-year relationship, a poorly toddler and a flooded kitchen.

It was the pasta that broke me.

Having barely eaten for the last few days I decided to cook one of my favourite  meals. As I opened the pasta the packet burst, flinging its contents everywhere. I sank to the floor sobbing like a baby, penne crunching beneath my feet.

‘Oh no’ exclaimed my son. I felt him stroke my hair and, when I finally raised my head, there he was with a dustpan and brush sweeping up the mess.

I can’t describe how that made me feel. Alex’s’ quiet determination to clear up  those damned pasta shapes was humbling. It made me realise that I can get through anything for him.

He got me off that damned floor.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rebecca
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 08:23:22

    Thank goodness for Alex. Children can be amazing at times. I am glad that he was there with you. x x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

