And Wilt Thou Leave Me Thus?


A ND wilt thou leave me thus ?
  Say nay !  say nay !  for shame
  To save thee from the blame
Of all my grief and grame.1
And wilt thou leave me thus ?

Say nay ! Say nay !
    And wilt thou leave me thus ?
That hath lov’d thee so long ?
In wealth and woe among :
And is thy heart so strong
As for to leave me thus ?
Say nay ! Say nay !
    And wilt thou leave me thus ?
That hath given thee my heart
Never for to depart ;
Neither for pain nor smart :
And wilt thou leave me thus ?
Say nay ! Say nay !
    And wilt thou leave me thus ?
And have no more pity,
Of (she) that loveth thee ?
Alas !  thy cruelty !
And wilt thou leave me thus ?
Say nay ! Say nay !

Sir Thomas Wyatt

Leave a Reply

