Devil On My Shoulder


Yesterday marked my 41st birthday and I reflected upon my life so far. I thought about my journey,  my achievements and my place in the universe…then quickly dived into a vat of wine to numb the depression. I soon rallied though as a surge of unexpected optimism entered my veins.

It came to me as I lay soaking in the bath. The bathroom light had packed up again so I was surrounded by scented candles. A poem was formulating in my head (bear with me please there is a point to this). Unfortunately I did not have the foresight to take pen and paper into the bathroom but the crux of the poem was as follows.

Many people in my past have used the tool of words to lash me but they are gone now. However, I have taken up their weapons into my own hands and carried on their work. I carry the instruments of torture inside myself and ritually abuse my own creativity. There is a devil on my shoulder pouring vitriol in my ear and yet, I have come to realise that I do not have to keep it there. I have the ability to brush this devil off my shoulder forever and hurl those weapons into the abyss. And that is exactly what I have done…right now. See…there it all goes, screaming as it falls into a bottomless pit.

I suspect that there are many who could tell the same sorry tale and I also suspect that most can, like me, can heal their wounds. It doesn’t matter at what age we choose to begin to live…as long as we DO live. And I mean really LIVE!!!

Here endeth the lesson. 🙂

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ivana
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 13:56:07

    That was a very inspiring post. Once you realize who you are, what you really want, and what is important to you, everything else falls aside.
    Happy Birthday…late 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

