15 Minutes Of Fame (well…sort of)


Last night I attended Script Factor at the York Theatre Royal. Five budding playwrights battled it out with their 15 minute scripts upon the theme of Brief Encounter…and I got to play a part.

Let me rephrase that…I got VOLUNTEERED to play a part. So there I was on stage, a script shaking in my hand waiting for the moment when ‘Customer 2, Scene 2’ had to speak. Worse still, I had to speak in  a posh accent, no mean feat from this broad Yorkshire lass. Anyway, I did it and was happy not to be booed offstage.

Later in the bar a group of ladies overheard me jokingly chastising Nic for throwing me in at the deep end. They voiced their surprise and told me that they had assumed I was part of the acting group as (in their words) I was so professional. What a wonderful compliment that was in fact, I’m still smiling now.

And the point of this tale?

Life sometimes throws us unexpected challenges that scare the bejesus out of you. Take a chance, go for it because you might just find that you really, really enjoy it.

I must go now, Stephen Spielberg is on the other line…….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kathryn20000
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 19:05:34

    hi;is it: Tim Horton’s that stacey enjoys so much? 🙂 thanks! Kathryn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

