NaNoWriMo: Bring It On


November is National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo to the initiated) and I’ve set myself up for the challenge. 30 days of writing to produce (hopefully) a 50,000 word masterpiece. OK, maybe not a masterpiece but nonetheless it will be an exciting challenge.

I begin this latest project against a backdrop of chaos. Come to think of it, when is my life ever anything else? My financial situation remains dire, my partner is moving out, I hit 41 soon and what would have been Sams’ due date is looming. NaNoWriMo is an opportunity to distance myself from all this for a few hours a day. I’m hoping it will be a much-needed confidence boost and, of course, it isn’t going to cost me a penny (just a lot of blood, sweat and tears). 🙂

I’ve outlined my plot, done some basic research and bought myself an 8 cup cafetiere, an essential item that will save time and electricity. My kettle deserves a break too. With any luck I will come out of this month with a sense of achievement and renewed confidence which will balance out the writers bum and repetitive strain injury. 🙂

So it’s onwards and upwords (sic). I would like to say good luck to all my fellow NaNoWriMo participants and see you all at the finishing line.

Kate

XXX

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alisonwells
    Oct 31, 2009 @ 13:35:47

    My God woman, chaos is not the word, life on the edge, eh? Know it well. Take good care of yourself. Have signed up for NaNoWriMo too but precarious times might get in the way. If it doesn’t focus and uplift me I’ll ditch it. Thinking of you as you remember Sam. Love and hugs.

    Reply

  2. Nadine Laman
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 02:07:50

    I know you can do it. I just know it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

