21st Century Whore


Some days you feel as though there really are Greek Gods sat up in the heavens playing with the lives of  us mere mortals like pieces on a chess board.

To quote Dr Who, the Boardman household is currently in a ‘state of flux’. Technology is failing. One laptop, one PC and a DVD player committed group suicide in the same week. OK, an inquest into the DVDs’ demise did conclude an accidental death. It was fed a sandwich by Pesky Kid.

The loss of our beloved computers has forced me to question my status as a writer. For days I was stuck, how could I possibly write without my keyboard and blank screen? What is the point of life without a spellchecker? ‘For gods’ sake,’ screams my resourceful side, ‘did Jane Austen bemoan the absence of  a cut and paste facility’? ‘Was Shakespeares’ output hampered by his inability to write in  Times New Roman, font size 12 with double spacing’?

Perhaps I ought to rethink my approach. After all, there is something inherently appealing about sitting in *El Piano with  pencil and a writing journal, sipping hot chocolate whilst feverishly writing a masterpiece. Of course, I will have to make the hot chocolate last a while in the spirit of that genteel poverty that makes the life of a writer/poet seem somewhat romantic.

That is until the insurance cheque arrives and I rush out to buy my Samsung NC10 Netbook. My romanticism swiftly and cruelly abandoned for the whoredom of 21st Century technology.

 

*El Piano: a shabby chic, vegetarian cafe in York. Has the most wonderful ambience and the best Fair Trade hot chocolate ever tasted.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hot Cross Mum
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 19:21:10

    You are so right! We’re all so plugged in and panic when the broadband goes down! Love the idea of the coffee shop – I might join you there for some cake and inspiration!

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Oct 11, 2009 @ 14:49:24

    Great post. Love your sense of humour. Scary that we’ve forgotten how we coped – not so long ago – without mobile phones, internet, answering machines …
    If it makes you feel any better, I’ve recently acquired a Netbook and LOVE IT! Handy to tote around and fits perfectly on the table in ‘my’ local coffee shop. Enjoy it!
    X

    Reply

  3. Gray
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 07:05:02

    Great humor, great post. I could so relate. Paper and pen(cil) seem so degradingly slow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

