Pause for a moment….


Last week saw a definite upturn in my social calendar. A Launch Party for Confident Ladies, a Virtual Book Tour with Stacey Voss in the offing and a weekend spent in the company of my wonderful rugrats. Then… ‘Wham Bam Thank You Ma’am’, I was hit by a merciless bug.

Sunday became a blur through seemingly endless rounds of coughs, sneezes and sweating bouts. Monday wasn’t much better. On Tuesday I picked myself up long enough to attend a lovely meet up with Jools from Writebuzz only to relapse the same night. All hopes of this being a 24 hour bug were dashed.

My frustration is exacerbated by the ever growing back log of reviews, promotions and submissions I had intended to clear. My partner had two precious days off work which he spent bringing me endless hot drinks and medication. It wasn’t quite the ‘family time’ we had planned.

In the grand scheme of things, a heavy cold is hardly a tragedy. Today I read of a tsunami in Samoa where a toddler is missing and almost 100 have been people killed. Yes, I’m poorly and non-productive at the moment but at least I can retreat to the safety of my duvet and rely on the loving care of my wonderful family and friends.

Every so often we all need to stop for a moment, to look at what we really have and remind ourselves how lucky we are.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jonathan Freckleton
    Sep 30, 2009 @ 19:43:56

    quite true.
    Feel better soon honey. xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

