Jude The Obtuse


In the spirit of the CYAW meme, Jude The Obtuse (or the lovely martcibe  to you and I) has contributed this eloquent piece.

Wednesday, 26 August 2009

“Call Yourself A Writer ?” Meme

1. Which words do you use too much in your writing?

My lack of self-confidence means I often qualify what I say with ‘just’. Or end it with ‘apparently.’ It’s a bad habit apparently.

2. Which words do you consider overused in stuff you read?

I really hate the word ‘dystopia’. Lots of comfortable middle-class people set out to write ‘dystopian’ novels. We’re all doomed apparently. Reviewers use it far too often as well. Dystopias are no more realistic or believable than utopias. Both generally make for bad fiction.

3. What’s your favourite piece of writing by you?

I tend to dislike most of it. Better to fall in love with the process than the product. The best writing I did was the most difficult but it touched and moved the most people in ways I could never normally contemplate. That was when my sister was dying. Where it came from I don’t know. It was visceral and real and removed of any posture or dishonesty. Not really proud of it, but it was my best by far. The rest is just filler. I used just again.

4. What are your other favourite blogs ?

They’re not really writing blogs but the three I probably visit the most are ;

The F Word Blog
Genderfork
Wears The Trousers

5. Regrets, do you have a few? Is there anything you wish you hadn’t written?

Regrets are a bit pointless but perhaps unavoidable. There is acres of journalism I could have done better. I sometimes regret the parts of myself I’ve given away online. I have self-disclosure tourettes when I’m tired. I’ve told the wrong people the wrong things at times. Which comes from having a largely trusting nature. Most of the time though, it’s write and be damned.

6. How has your writing made a difference? What do you consider your most important piece of writing?

I can’t remember a time when I didn’t. It’s one of the most natural things in the world to me. It’s hard to quantify really, like asking ‘what difference has food made to your life’. Without it I feel wrong.

7. Name three favourite words

Solitude.Friendship.Love

8. …And three words you’re not so keen on

Intrigue.Deception.Hate

9. Do you have a writing mentor, role model or inspiration ?

I’ve always found Virginia Woolf really inspiring/interesting. It took me a while to get into her work, but when I finally did it was a revelation and I’d like to be buried with her books. She wrote so much interesting stuff and her take on gender and writing I largely share. She was a great advocate of the androgynous mind. Could be an awful snob at times but nobody’s perfect.

Writers I really enjoy are ; Thomas Hardy, Daphne Du Maurier, Patrick Gale, Orlanda Figes to name but four off the top of my head. There’s so many really.

10. What’s your writing ambition?

To keep doing it till I die. And to touch people with what I write. Simples.

11. Plug alert! List any work you would like to tell your readers about ?

Oh, go put my name in your favourite online bookstore’s search engine and see what you find. Other than that, I’d really reccomend Patrick Gale as a popular writer with an amazing grasp/understanding of human emotion and the intricacies of families and relationships.

I don’t tag, but if it feels good do it. As I might say if I was groovy/embarassing.

Posted by Martcibe at 06:39
Leave a Reply

