“Call Yourself a Writer?” Meme


I was recently tagged on this meme by nickdaws.

In his post; Nick was asked and then answered a number of questions about his own writing. He then tagged several other writers, including myself, to answer the questions as well. So, without further ado, here are my responses…

1. Which words do you use too much in your writing? 

My, dark, and lots of words ending in “ly”

2.  Which words do you consider overused in stuff you read?

Great, then, lots of words ending in “ly”

 

3. What’s your favourite piece of writing by you?

My poem, “A Love Story”.  It’s a two finger salute to all the people in my life who tried to destroy my love of writing and poetry. “You stole me” but, hey look, I wrote a great poem from that experience. You can read it in the Mocha Moments page of my blog.

I wrote a song for the Queens Silver Jubilee when I was seven and it was professionally recorded and sent to HM. I received a thank you letter back.

When I was 15 I came second in the National Letter Writing Competition organised by the Royal Mail. I won £50…a fair sum in those days. I gave it to my parents as we were in the middle of the Miners Strike and money was tight.

Recently I was involved in the Poem in a Box project with York St John University. I had several poems published on digital screens that were displayed at several sites around York. One of these sites was York Minster and I still get a buzz from that.

4. What are your other favourite blogs?

There are some wonderful writing blogs out there. I’ve barely scraped the surface yet so just off the top of my head for now

writing-about-writing.blogspot

nadine laman

bubblecow

carolinesmailes

thecreativepenn

amandamakepeace

 

5. Regrets, do you have a few? Is there anything you wish you hadn’t written?


There isn’t a thing I regret writing, it’s the stuff I haven’t written that I regret.  Luckily, I can change that now.

6. How has your writing made a difference? What do you consider your most important piece of writing?

On a personal level, being able to write again has made a profound difference on my self-image. I can now begin to nurture myself in a way I never could before. My most important piece of writing is everything I have written and everything I shall ever write. When you have been deprived of oxygen for so long doesn’t every gulp of air tastes as sweet as the first?

7. Name three favourite words 

Holiday, Laughter, Mummy

8. …And three words you’re not so keen on

Morning, Stop, Pingu

 

9. Do you have a writing mentor, role model or inspiration?

My partner Nick Boardman. Despite dyslexia he has more qualifications than you can shake a stick at, an Honours Degree in History and a published script. He has also directed Amateur Dramatics and has just finished his first novel Star Maniacs. Nick’s quiet tenacity is inspirational.

As a child I read many classics and was influenced by The Bronte’s, Stoker, Dickens and The Shelley’s. Later in life I discovered Jean Plaidy, Catherine Cookson, Stephen King and Patricia Cornwell to name but a few. A nice eclectic mix and I keep discovering new inspiration all the time.

I am also inspired by Ghandi and try to apply at least one of his quotes/teachings to my day.
 

10. What’s your writing ambition?

I would like leave a small legacy for my children/grandchildren in the form of a book. I shared a bedroom with my Nana for 17 years and she would tell me stories of her (rather controversial) life in the 1920’s onwards. I taped her telling these stories for posterity but, after she died, the tapes went missing. I was devastated.

Of course, if someone offered me a 7 figure advance and a villa in Tuscany for the rights to my work it would be churlish to turn it down…don’t you think?

11. Plug alert! List any work you would like to tell your readers about.


 I would like to mention mywriterscircle where I have received some great feedback and in depth critique on my work. The forum really is like a big family, very supportive and informative and no cliques.  

Keep track on my blog  for updates on the hugely anticipated Star Maniacs Official Website which is in development right now. It’s going to be huge.
So that’s me, then. In accordance with the rules (see below), here are the names of four other writer/bloggers I would like to tag

writing-about-writing

nadinelamanbooks

carolinesmailes

amandamakepeace

jasonpinter.com

 Obviously, there is no obligation on anyone to do this, but I’ve found it a very interesting experience myself, and would love to see other people’s responses too. And, of course, anyone with a blog is more than welcome to take part in the meme – you don’t have to be tagged first!

The Rules

If you have time to do this meme, then please link to my post here, then link to three to five other bloggers  and pass it on, asking them to answer your questions and link back to you. You can add, remove or change one question as you go. You absolutely do not have to be what you may think of as a “published” or “successful” writer to respond to this meme.

Have fun, and I look forward to reading more responses

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Amanda Makepeace » Blog Archive » “Call Yourself a Writer?” Meme
  2. Amanda Makepeace
    Aug 26, 2009 @ 17:27:50

    I always find answering questions like these taxing, but it’s good to move out of one’s comfort zone occasionally. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

